20 new winners recognised at the 30th TTG Travel Awards

(1) Mr. Arthur Chen, Vice President of Sino Splendid Holdings Limited (2) Mr. Darren Ng, Managing Director of TTG Asia Media

The 30th edition of the annual TTG Travel Awards commemorated 86 outstanding travel and tourism stars on September 26, 2019, in Bangkok.

Twenty new winners have emerged across various categories, taking home the signature Hermes trophy for the first time. Debuting winners include Bangkok Marriott Marquis Queen’s Park and MEET Taiwan, who took the honour of Best Business Hotel and Best Convention & Exhibition Bureau respectively.

From left: Taipei Economic and Cultural Office (Thailand)’s Tony Wu; Sino Splendid Holdings’ Arthur Chen; Taipei Economic and Cultural Office (Thailand)’s Jason Hsu; Meet Taiwan’s Lee Jerchin; and TTG Asia Media’s Darren Ng (yellow tie)

Other first-time winners who made their way into the TTG Travel Awards include Scoot (Best Low-Cost Carrier), Dorsett Hospitality International (Best Mid-Range Hotel Brand), and TST Tourist (Best Travel Agency – Vietnam).

This year’s edition also debuted seven new awards, with a bulk of the new titles in the Travel Services Awards category. The Destination of the Year award, previously an Outstanding Achievement Award in the non-voting category, is now classified as open voting. Other awards which made their debut include Best Luxury Cruise Line, Best River Cruise Line, and Best Travel Technology Provider.

Amid fierce competition, 16 awardees marked their resurgence into the awards. Two winners in particular stood out from the rest. Having previously been awarded in 1999, both Bali, Indonesia and Hanjin Travel Service made a comeback in their respective titles Destination of the Year and Best Travel Agency – South Korea.

In addition, outstanding Achievement Award recipients handpicked by TTG’s editorial team for exceptional contributions as industry role-models are Mario Hardy, CEO of Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA); Jim Qian, chairman & CEO of Fosun Tourism Group; and Discova as Travel Personality of the Year, Travel Entrepreneur of the Year and Most Sustainable Travel Company respectively. All are first-time winners to these titles.

Lastly, the TTG Travel Hall of Fame welcomed two new inductees, Best Western Hotels & Resorts (Best Mid-Range Hotel Brand) and Travelport (Best GDS), this year. The new additions brings the total number of honoraries inducted to 19.

The complete list of BT-MICE Award winners are:

  • Bangkok Marriott Marquis Queen’s Park for Best Business Hotel
  • Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre at CentralWorld for Best Meetings & Conventions Hotel
  • Singapore Tourism Board for Best BT-MICE City
  • Sands Expo and Convention Centre at Marina Bay Sands for Best Convention & Exhibition Centre
  • MEET Taiwan for Best Convention & Exhibition Bureau
  • Cvent for Best Events Technology Provider
Sponsored Post